University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help

Interior Architecture Periodicals Guide

Print Periodicals      Online Periodicals 

Print Periodicals
Find the journals and magazines listed below in the Current Periodicals collection on the library's second floor. Use the Journal titles A-Z list from the Homepage to find out more about the publications (issues available, location, format). 

Use an index if you want to conduct in-depth research using these print periodicals. If the library provides access to an online index that includes the periodicals listed below, you will find a link to that online index under the periodical title.  Use the Article databases by subjects option and select the category Arts to simultaneously search multiple art indexes.

Abitare 
Indexed by
Art Full Text
Interprets architecture from an international viewpoint, with articles on homes, buildings, places, and objects from all over the world.

Architectural Digest
Indexed by
Art Full Text
Trade magazine showcasing homes and architectural designs from around the world.  

Architectural Record 
Indexed by
Art Full Text
Magazine of the American Institute of Architects.
Mix of design ideas and trends, science, business, and professional strategies, exploration of key issues, news products, and computer-aided practice.

The Architectural Review 
Indexed by
Art Full Text
International in flavor, with insight into global architectural trends.

Arkitektur DK  
Focuses on architecture and design in Europe.

Builder 
National Association of Home Builders publication that provides information for builders of residential units.

Contract
Indexed by
Art Full Text
Trade magazine focusing on commercial interiors. Features trends in restaurant, school, museum, retail store, and office design.

Design News 
Indexed by Ebsco MasterFILE Premier
Design engineering magazine that covers the latest tools, components, and materials used in industrial design.

Dwell 
Showcases home architecture.

EnvironDesign Journal
Semiannual supplement to Interiors and Sources.  

Environment and Behavior
Analyzes and records the influence of environment on individuals, groups, and institutions.

Environmental Building News 
Monthly newsletter featuring comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building—from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land use planning and indoor air quality.

Forum Journal 
Quarterly journal from National Trust for Historic Preservation covering the issues affecting work in preservation

Hospitality Design
Indexed by Ebsco MasterFILE Premier
Addresses all aspects of the design, construction, development and management of hotels, resorts, non-military clubs, senior living developments, and healthcare facilities.

House and Garden
Focuses on a different theme each month. Feature articles address apartments, houses, estates, gardens, and collections.

ID
Indexed by
Art Full Text
Critical magazine covering the art, business, and culture of design.

Interior Design (U.S.) 
Indexed by
Art Full Text
About the business of interior design. Contains insights on managing the business, legal issues, and trade practices of interior design.

Interiors and Sources
Indexed by
Art Full Text
Geared to the professional designer and architect. Concentrates on commercial interiors.

JA: Japan Architect  
Indexed by
Art Full Text
Quarterly publication focuses on Asian residential and commercial works.

Journal of Interior Design
Indexed by
Art Full Text
Only scholarly title for the interior design profession. Focuses on education, practice, research, and theory. 

Journal of Material Culture  
Explores the relationship between artifacts and social relations. Draws on a range of disciplines including anthropology, archaeology, design studies, history, human geography, and museology.

Lighting Design & Application 
Indexed by
Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Monthly magazine of the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America.

Metropolitan Home 
Indexed by Art Full Text
Includes articles on decorating, remodeling, and designing. Geared to upscale, urban, and contemporary design. 

Metropolis
Architecture and design magazine of New York.

Preservation
Indexed by
Art Full Text
Magazine of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Includes preservation news, book reviews, and historic interiors.

Visual Merchandising and Store Design
Magazine for retail designers and store display professionals. Showcases latest store designs and visual presentations.

Winterthur Portfolio
Indexed by
Art Full Text
Subjects covered include architecture and landscape design, technology and trade, style and taste, customs and habits, manners and rituals—all relating to how people make and use objects to create or sustain environments. 

World Heritage Review 
Contains feature articles and news about natural and cultural World Heritage sites, special reports and new heritage site listings, accompanied by photographs and detailed maps.


return to top


 

Online Periodicals
Listed below are online periodicals that are available in full text through the library's indexes and databases or freely available on the Web. Use the Custom Search feature to simultaneously search the indexes listed.  Click on the journal title to browse the available issues.

 

Architecture, Design, and Construction

Architecture

Indexed by Ebsco Academic Search Elite

 

Building Design & Construction

Indexed by Business Source Elite

 

Buildings

Indexed by Business Source Elite

 

Design Issues

Indexed by Academic Search Elite

 

HD: The Journal for Healthcare Design & Development

Indexed by Academic Search Elite

 

Journal of Architectural and Planning Research

Indexed by Art Full Text

 

Journal of Retail & Leisure Property

Indexed by ABI/INFORM Global

 

Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians

Indexed by Art Full Text

Places, A Forum of Environmental Design

Indexed by Art Full Text

 

Surface Design Journal

Indexed by Art Full Text

Ergonomics

Ergonomics

Indexed by Academic Search Elite

 

Human Factors

Indexed by OmniFile Full Text

 

Work & Stress

Indexed by Academic Search Elite

Lighting

Lighting Dimensions
Indexed by Academic Universe
Search Tip: Conduct a Guided News Search in General News / Magazines and Journals.

Lighting Magazine

Indexed by Academic Universe
Search Tip: Conduct a Guided News Search in World News /North/South America News Sources.

Material Culture

American Quarterly

Indexed by Project MUSE
 

Cultural Anthropology
Indexed by
JSTOR

 

Technology and Culture
Indexed by
Project MUSE

Sustainability and Green Design (all titles below are freely available on the Web)

Architectural Record - Green Architect

Ecotecture: The Online Journal of Ecological Design

Environmental Design and Construction

Journal of Sustainable Product Design (back issues)

New Village: Building Sustainable Cultures


return to top


 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, September 04, 2009