University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help

UW-Stevens Point University Library Super Search
 

Finding Resources

 

 

Find Article Databases


Click on the Alpha-List to jump directly to that part of Resource List (example: click “M” to jump to the M’s to get to MedlinePlus)

OR

Enter a term and click GO (change the option to “Starts with” or “Exact” if you choose)

    Remember: ALL our electronic resources are in the Alpha-List.

This includes Article Databases & Indexes, E-Journals, Web Resources, and the UWSP Library Catalog.

 

 

Article Databases by Subject

FIRST choose a Category to display subjects

THEN

Pick the resources within that subject to search.  

Note: You may need to use the Scroll Bar to see all your options.  

(See CustomSearch under Searching Methods for choosing specific subject databases).

 

 

Journal Titles A-Z

 

To search for a specific journal or magazine title, such as, Journal of Adolescence, simply type in the name of the journal.

OR

click on a letter in the alpha-list to jump directly to a list of titles (Ex: P’s will take you to the Pace Law Review and other titles beginning with P).

 

Searching – Three Methods
 

 

Method One: QuickSearch
 

QuickSearch is a simple search of our most popular databases, including Academic Search Elite (Ebsco); Masterfile (Ebsco); and  Omnifile (Wilson).

OR

You may also search for newspaper articles (Proquest and Ebsco) by choosing the Newspapers option in the QuickSearch menu.

 

Method Two: Native Interface
 

Once you find a resource, such as MLA in EbscoHost, you can search for your topic by clicking directly on the resource name, which will take you to the native interface.

 

Note: Searching the resource directly is a more powerful way of searching and is better for saving and emailing your results.

 

Method Three: CustomSearch
 

You may simultaneously search up to 8 resources using one interface if you have a very focused topic or are looking for the “needle in the haystack.”

 

The boxes to the left of the resource name indicate those that can be searched simultaneously. You may check up to 8 resources to search. If there is no box next to the resource name, that resource can only be searched through the native interface.

 

(Example: See figure at left for resources within Sociology).


Managing Your Records

              

You can print or save your records using any of the above search methods. Use the Standard format for saving or emailing your records in the ReSearch Point interface. Printing your record will produce the cleanest format.

Still need help with ReSearch Point? Ask Us!
 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, September 04, 2009