The purpose of this guide is to help you locate information to fulfill the requirements for your final paper. While this guide is not intended to be a comprehensive list of sources, it is a good starting point. Some information may overlap from one source to another. You will need to determine the level of information required – from a variety of sources – to complete your analysis for your country profile.
Important Access Points
Library Homepage
Off-Campus Access Information
http://library.uwsp.edu/help/offcampus.htm
Trouble Shooting
If the library server is down or you are experiencing problems with accessing library resources from off-campus, try the following web addresses:
UWSP Library Catalog – http://spoc.uwsp.edu
Research Point (articles) – http://metalib.wisconsin.edu/V
Important Areas to Visit in the Library
For background information on a country check out the Reference Room (1st flr). Here you will find
statistics, industry information, some cultural aspects, atlases and maps.
For current and in-depth country information, including additional maps, go to the Government Publications area on the 6th flr – a “must” area to visit in the library for this assignment. Note: Many government publications are now available on the web, which is referenced in our library catalog.
For country business practices and customs, search the Library Catalog and browse the stacks to find titles, such as “Doing business with Germany” HG5495 .D644 1999.
For business and industry related articles search the following business-related databases [Note: To access business databases, click on “databases by subject” from the Library Homepage and choose the Business/Economics category]:
ABI/Inform (business and industry reports and articles)
Lexis/Nexis (business and industry reports and articles)
EbscoHost – Business Source Elite (articles and Datamonitor reports)
For reliable Web resources on countries - go to the Virtual Reference Desk (VRD) link under the “GUIDES” section on the Library homepage. From the VRD page, look under the topic Government or Business/Economics. The “Country Profiles” under the Government link is an excellent resource.
|
Geographic & General Country Information |
Check the atlases and maps for geographic information. Also, go to Government Docs (6th floor
and Reference (1st floor) for maps and country profiles. Also search the library catalog for
country profiles (see example above). Other sources include:
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
REF G63 .W67 2004
This 6-vol set contains the geography, history, politics and economics of countries.
CIA World Factbook (Available through the Library’s VRD)
http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
Information about countries worldwide, including literacy rates, land area, forms of government, and much more.
Library of Congress-Country Studies (Available through the Library’s VRD)
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Provides a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Background Notes – U.S. Dept of State (Available through the Library’s VRD)
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign
relations.
|
Government and Economic Information |
Much government and economic information will also be found in the above sources. Here are a few other sources to check:
Legal systems of the world: a political, social, and cultural encyclopedia
REF K48 .L44
European Political Facts of the Twentieth Century
REF JN12 .C643
Current brief facts on European political facts
Country Statistical Agencies (Available through the Library’s VRD)
http://www.census.gov/main/www/stat_int.html
Links to government statistical agencies for individual countries. Includes the latest
statistics on economic indicators and categories relevant to a particular country. Not every
country has a government website.
|
Major Industries & Company Information |
Major industries will also be discussed in the above sources. Below are other titles that focus specifically on industry and company information. Company rankings, such as Fortune’s Global 500 or Business Week’s Global 1,000 are available on the 2nd floor in periodicals and electronically through our business databases (see reference librarian for help).
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
REF HD2324 .E53 2003
Manufacturing worldwide
REF HG4057 .M366
Industry analyses, statistics, products, and leading companies and countries.
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
REF HG4057 .D572
Directory of Corporate Affiliations
REF HG4057 .A219
Directory of private companies, including corporate affiliations; International directory of corporate affiliations.
International Directory of Company Histories
REF HD2721 .I63 1988
This is a 64-volume set that includes a cumulative index to companies and persons.
Handbook of Country Risk
Guide to international business and trade.
|
Culture |
Overview information:
Countries and their Cultures
REF GN307 .C68
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
REF GN333 .W67
Marketing:
Handbook of Cross-Cultural Marketing [Reserve Desk]
Consumer Behavior and Culture: consequences for global marketing and advertising
HF5415.32 .M66 (4th flr)
Customs & Etiquette:
For books on cultural aspects of doing business, you may search the Library Catalog:
Ex: China and business and culture (keyword search)
You may also search by subject heading:
Ex: Advertising-cross-cultural studies
Business etiquette
Social life and customs
World Trade Press publishes a series on numerous countries’ business, customs and etiquette called “Portable encyclopedia…” or “Passport…” Search the catalog by publisher name.
Ex: Passport Argentina : your pocket guide to Argentine business, customs & etiquette
Kogan Page also publishes a series called “Doing business with…”
Ex: Doing business with Germany
Wiley publishes a series by Dean Foster called “Global Etiquette…”
Ex: Global etiquette guide to Europe: everything you need to know for business and travel success.
Other titles include:
Intercultural Business Communication
Mind your Manners: Managing business cultures in new global Europe
Kiss, bow, or shake hands: how to do business in sixty countries [Reserve Desk]
Business Failures:
In search of stupidity: over 20 years of high-tech marketing disasters
A short course in international marketing blunders: mistakes made by companies that should have known better [Reserve Desk]
Blunders in international business [Reserve Desk]