University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
University Library, UW-Stevens Point
Library Home | About Us | Hours | Directory | Library News | Visitors & Maps | Site Index | Help

Dance History 352 - Resource Guide

This guide will help you get started with your research. It is by no means comprehensive, but it does provide a research path that will lead you to a variety of materials.

Access Points

 

Background Information

The Reference area is a good place to gather background information. One key source you may find useful here:

International Encyclopedia of Dance Ref GV1585 .I586 2004 (6 vols)

 

Books

Search the Library Catalog using keywords or subject headings for books related to dance, body image, society and culture, or a specific person:

  • Example: Subject Heading – body image
  • Example: Keyword – dance and culture

Finding Articles

Use Research Point to locate articles from a variety of databases – both general and subject specific. Below are some key journal titles in the field of dance that our Library subscribes to:

 

Ballet Review

Journal of Physical Ed., Recreation & Dance

Dance Magazine

Studies in Dance History

Dance Perspectives

CORD

Dance Research Journal

 

 

Databases

The following databases focus on the Arts and Humanities. To access the databases, use the Research

Point gateway from the Library Homepage:

EbscoHost – Academic Search Elite

Multi-disciplinary database offers full-text to many of it 2,000+ scholarly/general journals/magazines; 1500 of these are peer-reviewed, including some dance journals.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index – Web of Science

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.

Biographies Plus – WilsonWeb

Wilson Biographies contains the full text of the biographies from more than 100 print volumes of biographical reference books published by H. W. Wilson.

Humanities Full-Text and Reader’s Guide (with retrospective)

These databases contain articles from general interest periodicals and in the Humanities field.

Dissertations Abstracts

Full range of academic subjects found in dissertations. 

Web Resources

Dance View

DanceView is a quarterly review of dance published since 1979.

 

Dance Heritage Coalition

A coalition of major dance collections that focuses on access to materials, documentation of dance, preservation of existing documentation, and education. Includes many helpful links.

Society of Dance History Scholars

Provides information about the society, including membership, publications, conferences, awards, and online resources.  

NYPL Performing Arts

National Dance Education Organization  

 

© 2004 University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point University Library
900 Reserve Street | Stevens Point, WI 54481
715·346·3038 (administration) | 715·346·2540 (circulation) | 715·346·2836 (reference)

This page last modified: Friday, September 04, 2009