|
| We recommend that you also search the Library Catalog for Literature and Philosophy. In addition to the Web sites listed on this page, you will find materials that have been carefully selected to address the needs of our students and faculty. Click on the links above to auto search the catalog for Literature and Philosophy. |
Aesop's Fables [Real OnePlayer]: Access to over 655 Fables with more to come. The Fables are listed by title and by moral of the story -- many include illustrations and over a dozen are available as audio narrations. Source: John R. Long.
African American Women Writer's of the 19th Century:
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts: [.pdf] A collection of digital documents from American literature, English literature, and Western philosophy. In addition to displaying texts, the user can search within the text for specific terms. Source: Eric Lease Morgan, NCSU Libraries, Raleigh N.C.
Bartleby.com: Provides full text access to a number of literary works including the poetry of Dickinson, Frost, Hardy, Keats, Millay, Sandburg, Shelley, Untermeyer, Whitman, Wordsworth, and Yeats. Source: Steven van Leeuwen, ed. The New Bartleby Library.
British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832: Some texts consist of whole books (several hundred pages) and some, a single poem. Source: University of California-Davis.
Edgar Allan Poe: Complete text versions of almost all of Mr. Poe's poems and short stories. Source: Gibson Grafx.
EDSITEment: The Best of Humanities on the Web: Contains links to web sites in Literature and Language Arts, Foreign Language, Art and Culture, and History and Social Studies. Source: National Endowment for the Humanities.
Etymology Dictionary: A free online etymological dictionary. Source: Douglas Harper.
Internet Guide to Mississippi Writers: The heart of this web site are the Writer Listings, a collection of articles on each author detailing biographical information, a comprehensive list of published titles, various awards and honors, and a selected bibliography of additional resources. Source: University of Mississippi, Dept. of English.
Internet Public Library Online Literary Criticism Collection: Contains sites devoted to literary criticism, biographical and other information on over 100 authors. Criticism links may be to sites or articles. Browsable by author, title or literary period (for British and American literature). Source: Internet Public Library, University of Michigan.
Literary Gothic: The Web's premier guide to gothic literature. Source: Jack G. Voller, Associate Professor of English at Southern Illinois University.
Lost Titles, Forgotten Rhymes: How to Find a Novel, Short Story or Poem without Knowing its Title or Author: The intent of this guide is to help readers identify a literary work when they know only its plot or subject, or other textual information such as a character's name, a line of poetry or a unique phrase. Source: Library of Congress.
Philosophy News Service: Includes news and articles. Source: Philosophy News Service.
Research Society for American Periodicals (RSAP): Contains resources for periodical research, including a list of 18th-21st century periodicals available on line, such as the Cornell University Library Making of America (MOA) Collection, which offers free access to full texts of a number of 18th and 19th century magazines and newspapers. Source: Research Society for American Periodicals.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: A dynamic, open access, collaborative reference encyclopedia covering all aspects of the human condition. The encyclopedia entries are written by experts in the field and are published through an academic peer review process. Source: Stanford University.